Manage Hosts and Environments

Information to help you manage hosts and environments (host groups,) including setting the default host for reporting, creating whitelists, changing an environment's name, moving a host to another environment, and deleting a host or environment.

To access the Hosts list, click Setup > Hosts.

This section contains the following information:

Filter, Sort, or Search the Hosts List

To filter the Hosts lists by environment, click the All drop-down list, then select the desired environment (Production, Staging, Development, or a custom environment you have created).

To sort the Hosts list, click any column header (Name, Environment, or Last Requested) to sort the list in ascending or descending order.

To search the Hosts list, type a search term in the Search box.

Select Multiple Hosts

To select multiple hosts, select the check boxes next to the Name column for the desired hosts. You can then move or delete all selected hosts.

Create an Environment

  1. From the Hosts list, click the Environments tab.

  2. Click Create Environment.

  3. Specify a descriptive name for the environment.

  4. Specify the desired active mode for the environment: Active Activities or Active and Inactive Activities.

  5. Click Save.

Set the Default Host for Reporting

You can select the environment you want to use as the default for all activity reports.

If you use Production as your default, all unknown hosts automatically are added here and report data from there is included in the default report view. Instead, creating a "clean" environment ensures only your core sites/domains are included.

To set the default environment for reporting:

  1. From the Hosts list, click the Settings tab.

  2. Select the default host from the Environment Settings drop-down list.

  3. Click Save.

Note: Recommendations users must rebuild their behavior database and product database if hosts switch host groups.

Create Whitelists that Specify Hosts That are Authorized to Send mbox Calls to Target.

You can create a whitelist that specifies hosts (domains) that are authorized to send mbox calls to Target. All other hosts generating calls will get a commented-out authorization error response. By default, any host that contains an mbox call registers with Target in the Production environment and has access to all active and approved activities. If this is not the desired approach, you can instead use the whitelist to record specific hosts that are eligible to make mbox calls and receive Target content. All hosts will continue to display in the Hosts list, and environments can still be used to group these hosts and assign different levels to each, such as whether the host can see active and/or inactive campaigns.

To create a whitelist:

  1. From the Hosts list, click the Settings tab.

  2. Select Enable Authorized Hosts for Content Delivery checkbox.

  3. Add the desired hosts in the Host Contains box, as desired.

    Multiple hosts can be listed, each on its own line.

  4. Click Save.

If an mbox call is made on an unauthorized host, the call will respond with /* no display - unauthorized mbox host */.

The whitelist takes precedence over environments. You should clear out all hosts before using the whitelist feature, then only the hosts allowed by the whitelist appear in your hosts list. You can then move the hosts into the desired environment.

Sometimes domains from other sites appear in your environments. A domain appears in the list if the domain makes a call to your mbox.js. For example, if somebody copies one of your web pages to their server, that domain appears in your environment. You might also see domains from spider engines, language translator sites, or local disk drives.

In cases where mboxHost is passed in an API call, conversion is recorded for the environment that is passed in. If no environment is passed, the host in the call defaults to Production.

You can also create a blacklist that specifies hosts (domains) than cannot send mbox calls to Target by adding the desired hosts in the Host Does Not Contain box.

Change the Name of an Environment

  1. From the Hosts list, click the Environments tab.

  2. Hover over the desired environment, then click the Edit icon ( ).

  3. Change the environment name.

  4. Click Save.

Move a Host to a Different Environment

  1. From the Hosts list, hover over the host you want to move.

  2. Click the Move icon ( ).

  3. Select the desired environment from the drop-down list, then click the check mark icon.

Delete a Host

You can delete a host when it is no longer needed.

  1. From the Hosts list, hover over the host you want to delete.

  2. Click the Delete icon ( ).

  3. Click Delete to confirm the deletion.

Note: The host will be listed again if anyone browses to an mboxed page on the host.

Delete an Environment

You can delete an environment when it is no longer needed.

  1. From the Hosts list, click the Environments tab.

  2. Hover over the environment you want to delete.

  3. Click the Delete icon ( ).

  4. Click Delete to confirm the deletion.

Note: You cannot delete the Production environment, but you can rename it.