Frequently Asked Questions - Analytics Permission Changes

Considerable changes to Analytics User Permissions are coming to the Fall 2016 Adobe Analytics Release.

Frequently Asked Questions about Permission Changes

Here is important new information about new and planned updates and how they affect your administrative environment.

Question Answer
What permissions changes came in the July 2016 release?

All Report Suite Access

When adding report suites to include in a group, you can specify All Report Suite Access. This setting applies group permissions to all current and future report suites.

To enable this feature, navigate to User Management > Groups > Add New User Group, then select All Report Suite Access.



Should I use the Enterprise Dashboard to manage users, or the existing Analytics User Management?

Changes made in Analytics > Admin > User Management are not reflected in the Enterprise Dashboard. Therefore, only new customers who already use the Enterprise Dashboard for user and group management should continue doing so. A migration for existing Analytics group management to the Enterprise Dashboard is planned.

What Permissions changes are coming in the October 2016 release?

The following enhancements to the current Admin Tools interface will be available:

Is there anything I need to do to migrate users?

No, all permissions migrations will happen transparently.

  • All current traffic reports in a Custom Group will automatically be migrated to the new Dimension Category.
  • If a Custom Group has any metrics already enabled, it will automatically be given all newly permissionable dimensions (eVars and Solution variables).
  • A custom group with at least one metric will automatically be granted access to all eVars and other content-aware dimensions except the newly available traffic dimensions (formerly traffic reports).
  • Every predefined group will be changed into a permission. These new permissions will be added to a new Analytics Tools category.
  • Every Custom Group with any metrics will have all Analytics Solution events added as new metrics.
  • Every user that used to be in All Report Access will be added to the new custom group. All Report Access will no longer exist.

What will not change?

Visitor Attributes will continue to be non-permissioned.

Permissioning Quick Reference

The following table lists tasks and where they can take place (depending on a company's status).

Note: A migrated user and Marketing Cloud user refer to users who have accepted an email invitation to join the Marketing Cloud. If the email invitation is not accepted, users are still Analytics users and cannot be managed in the Enterprise Dashboard. (The exception is if the migration is using enterprise or federated IDs. In this case, the user is migrated when the administrator migrates users on a user-by-user basis.)
Task Non-Migrating Login Company Currently Migrating Company Finished Migrating Login Company
Create a user

Enterprise Dashboard (creating a user and adding him or her to an Analytics product configuration also creates the user account in Analytics).

Admin Tools

Enterprise Dashboard

Enterprise Dashboard

Edit a user

Admin Tools

Enterprise Dashboard

Admin Tools - Editing in the Admin Tools for migrated users is limited to API-key management, and deleting / transferring assets.

Enterprise Dashboard

Admin Tools - Editing is limited to API-key management, and deleting /transferring assets.

Delete a user

Enterprise Dashboard - For Marketing Cloud users

Admin Tools - for all users, but for marketing cloud users, only deletes the mapped Analytics user, not the Marketing Cloud account.

Enterprise Dashboard - For Migrated Users.

Admin Tools - For Analytics-only Users.

Enterprise Dashboard

Admin Tools - After deleting a Marketing Cloud user, or un-linking their account in Enterprise Dashboard, you can delete the Analytics login from Admin Tools.

Log in to Analytics

Marketing Cloud: marketing.adobe.com. Only available for Marketing Cloud users.

Analytics (legacy): sc.omniture.com. For Analytics only users, and for Marketing Cloud users with their Analytics credentials

marketing.adobe.com - only available for marketing cloud users.

sc.omniture.com - For analytics only users, and for marketing cloud users with their Analytics credentials.

During migration, admins can turn off omniture.com login ability for specific users.

Enterprise Dashboard

Create a group

Enterprise Dashboard - When a group is created in Enterprise Dashboard, a mapped group in Analytics will appear in the Admin Tools, but this mapped group cannot have its name changed from Admin Tools, or be deleted from Admin Tools.

Admin Tools.

Enterprise Dashboard (create product configuration)

Enterprise Dashboard (create product configuration)

Edit users in a group

Enterprise Dashboard - Only for Marketing Cloud users

Admin Tools - both Analytics-only users, and Marketing Cloud user membership to groups can be edited from Admin Tools. However, if a Marketing Cloud user is part of a group in Enterprise Dashboard, they cannot be removed from the group in Admin Tools.

Enterprise Dashboard - Marketing cloud users only

Admin Tools - Analytics-only logins can still be added to/removed from groups in Admin Tools.

Enterprise Dashboard

Edit permissions for a group

Enterprise Dashboard - You can edit groups created in Enterprise Dashboard.

Admin Tools - You can edit permissions for any group.

Enterprise Dashboard

Enterprise Dashboard

Delete group

Enterprise Dashboard - You can delete only groups created in Enterprise Dashboard.

Admin Tools - You can delete only groups created from Admin Tools.

Enterprise Dashboard

Enterprise Dashboard

Change admin status for user

Enterprise Dashboard - Only for marketing cloud users.

Admin Tools

Enterprise Dashboard - Only for Marketing Cloud users.

Admin Tools - Only for Analytics users.

Enterprise Dashboard