Profile Merge Rules and Device Un-Segmentation Processes

Unsegmentation describes processes that disqualify and remove device profiles from segments. Your ability to remove a device profile from a segment depends on the device option used to create a Profile Merge Rule.

Contents:

Available Device Options

As a reminder, the Device Options are available in the Profile Merge Rules Setup section when you create or edit a Profile Merge Rule.

Current Device Profile Option and Device Unsegmentation

Current Device Profile is the default device profile option for a Profile Merge Rule. Audience Manager can remove a device profile from a segment when your Profile Merge Rule uses the Current Device Profile option. Under these conditions, unsegmentation happens when:

  • The device profile has been inactive for 120-days. A weekly data cleanup process removes inactive device profiles from your segments.
  • The device no longer qualifies for a segment because updates or changes to the device profile disqualify it. This happens when segment qualification criteria change, or you apply an AND NOT operator to a segment rule, or specify recency and frequency conditions that use the less than/equal to settings. Use cases are described in the Instant Cross-Device Suppression documentation.

No Device Option and Device Unsegmentation

Audience Manager can remove a cross-device ID from a segment when your Profile Merge Rule uses the No Device Profile + Current Authenticated option. Under these conditions, unsegmentation happens when the cross-device ID no longer qualifies for a segment because updates or changes to the cross-device profile disqualify it. This happens when segment qualification criteria change, or you apply an AND NOT operator to a segment rule, or specify recency and frequency conditions that use the less than/equal to settings. Use cases are described in the Instant Cross-Device Suppression documentation.

Device Graph Options and Device Unsegmentation

Audience Manager can remove multiple device profiles from a segment when your Profile Merge Rule uses a device graph option. Unsegmentation happens when the merged profile of the device from the device graph no longer qualifies for the segment because updates or changes to this merged profile disqualify it from the segment. This happens when segment qualification criteria change, or you apply an AND NOT operator to a segment rule, or specify recency and frequency conditions that use the less than/equal to settings. Use cases are described in the Instant Cross-Device Suppression documentation.

Note: Four-device limit for segment evaluation and disqualification

Audience Manager merges up to four devices when evaluating segments with a Profile Merge Rule that uses a device graph. Audience Manager evaluates the current device and three additional devices last seen in real-time. If the unsegment signal is issued, the current device and three additional devices seen in real-time will be removed from the segment in the destination. For example, in a six-device cluster, up to four devices are merged, evaluated, and qualified for a segment. Similarly, up to four devices are merged, evaluated and unsegmented.